Skip site navigation (1) Skip section navigation (2)

Site Navigation

Core team election 2008

I am pleased to announce the results of the 2008 FreeBSD core team
election. Counting the ballots reveals that the votes are allocated
as follows,

    New Core Team
    Robert Watson  (172)
    Peter Wemm  (160)
    Kris Kennaway  (157)
    Murray Stokely  (134)
    George V. Neville-Neil  (126)
    Brooks Davis  (116)
    Wilko Bulte  (114)
    Hiroki Sato  (111)
    Giorgos Keramidas  (91)

    Runners Up
    Julian Elischer  (80)
    Marcel Moolenaar  (77)
    Doug Rabson  (75)
    Remko Lodder  (62)
    David E. O'Brien  (57)
    Alfred Perlstein  (48)
    Jack F Vogel  (18)
    Juli Mallett  (12)

Remarkably the core team is predominantly unchanged.  Congratulations
to Peter and Kris who will be joining, and to Robert, Murray, George,
Brooks, Wilko, Hiroki and Giorgos who retain their seats and will
continue to serve the project.  Our thanks also must go to Warner
and Wes for all their hard work over the last two years.

The election schedule has the new core team members formally taking
office on Thursday 24 July 2008, although I'm sure that there will
be a gradual passing of the reins between now and then.

I'll finish on some stats.  191 of the 301 committers entited to
vote logged in and voted. That's 63%, down 2% from the last election.

Many thanks to everyone for making the effort to vote.

I've said it before, and I'll say it again.  It looks like my work
here is done.  I would also like to announce my retirement as FreeBSD
electioneer. I've presided over four of the five core team elections,
and it's time for me to pass the reigns over to someone more involved
in the community than I find myself in present times.

All the best,


Welcome to This server is dedicated to running the 2008 FreeBSD core election.

The voting schedule is as follows:

Request for applications:		Wednesday 4 June 2008, 00:00 +0000 (GMT)
Close for applications:			Wednesday 18 June 2008, 00:00 +0000 (GMT)
Voting starts:				Thursday 19 June 2008, 00:00 +0000 (GMT)
Voting ends:				Wednesday 16 July 2008, 23:59 +0000 (GMT)
Result announced:			Thursday 17 July 2008, evening (GMT)
New core take office:			Thursday 24 July 2008.

All committers should be able to log into this machine via ssh using the same credentials that they use to log into Freefall.

** It is advised that all committers confirm that they are able to **
** log into in advance of the time that    **
** they'd like to vote -- please mail me ( if you  **
** have authentication woes.                                       **

All election functions are performed by running commands on the election server. These are all documented in the message of the day (/etc/motd) which is displayed when you log in. The voting commands will be announced once the vote start date arrives.

Voting will only be allowed by "active committers". The bylaws state:

  • "Active committers have made a commit to the tree in the last 12 months."
  • For the purposes of this election an active committer will be one that has committed to the tree within 12 months of the election start date. The definitive source of this information will come from:

  • Information about who is standing and their statements are available on the command line, as described in the motd, and additionally at augmented by various statistics.

    Please note that candidates are allowed to refine their statements throughout the election period, and voters are allowed to change their votes as often as they want.

    I hope that the voting process is enjoyable to everyone, and may I take this opportunity to wish the best of luck to all the brave souls who have put themselves up to our scrutiny. It's normal to say "may the best man win", but I think that it's more appropriate in this case to say "may we vote the best team in". Please use your votes wisely and take your time to select the kind of leadership you would like to shape the project.

    I look forward to announcing the results on the 17th July.

    Josef Karthauser,
    2008 Election Manager.